Businessman in a boardroom.

Ministerial appointments

Benefits Review Committee

The Benefits Review Committee is a review body that is established under the Social Security Act 2018 (SSA 2018). The Committee has three members, one of whom must be a community representative. Community representatives are Ministerial appointees who provide community input into the decision making process of the Committee. The Committee considers reviews against decisions made by the Ministry with regards to benefit entitlements.

Nominations are welcome at anytime so that a pool of community representatives are available as and when vacancies arise for the following areas:

  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Canterbury
  • Central
  • East Coast
  • Nelson
  • Northland
  • Southern
  • Taranaki
  • Waikato
  • Wellington