

29 September 2022

Tēnā koe

On 1 September 2022, you emailed the Ministry of Social Development (MSD) requesting, under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act), the following information:

• I noted on the website

https://women.govt.nz/sites/public\_files/2021%20Stocktake%20tabl es%20-%20Gender%2C%20Māori%2C%20Pacific%20and%20Ethnic%20Div ersity%20on%20Public%20Sector%20Boards%20and%20Committee s\_0.xlsx

It shows you have appointed 11 Māori, 2 Pacific and 1 Asian appointees. Can you please provide the name of each appointees and which board/committee they have been appointed to. Also, please included their position in the board/committee and their term of appointment.

MSD, on the behalf of its responsible Minister, is responsible for appointments for Members of three Crown Entities and three Statutory Tribunals. These are:

#### **Crown Entities**

Office of the Children's Commissioner (OCC) Social Workers Registration Board (SWRB) Peke Waihanga – New Zealand Artificial Limb Service (NZALS)

#### **Statutory Tribunals**

Social Security Appeal Authority (SSAA) Student Allowance Appeal Authority (SAAA) Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal (SWCDT) Please see enclosed **Appendix A**, a list of Members, as at 31 December 2021, and the names of Boards and Tribunals of where each Member sits.

Note that where the terms of the Members have expired, reappointment considerations may be pending. The Members continue on their role as Members under carry over provisions in the relevant legislations, until new appointments are confirmed.

We note that the following discrepancies with the Ministry for Women's website:

- under the Crown Entities Act 2004, MSD acts as administering agency for six Boards and Authorities – the website says seven (New Zealand Sign Language sits under the Office of Disability Issues, now part of Whaikaha-Ministry of Disabled People)
- 2) the ethnicity information that MSD hold for each Member is based on information provided during the appointment process
- there were nine Māori Board Members as at 31 December 2021, not 11
- 4) there were 19 European Members
- 5) as at 31 December 2021, there were no Asian Members on Boards and Tribunals administered by MSD, and
- 6) as at 31 December 2021, there were 28 Members in total on Boards and Tribunals administered by MSD and not 27. That is due to a Member resigning from the SWRB before that Member's term ended but they continued with their duties under carry on provisions.

The principles and purposes of the Official Information Act 1982 under which you made your request are:

- to create greater openness and transparency about the plans, work and activities of the Government,
- to increase the ability of the public to participate in the making and administration of our laws and policies and
- to lead to greater accountability in the conduct of public affairs.

MSD fully supports those principles and purposes and therefore intends to make the information contained in this letter and any attached documents available to the wider public. MSD will do this by publishing this letter and attachments on MSD's website. Your personal details will be deleted, and MSD will not publish any information that would identify you as the person who requested the information.

If you wish to discuss this response with us, please feel free to contact <u>OIA Requests@msd.govt.nz</u>.

If you are not satisfied with this response, you have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <u>www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</u> or 0800 802 602.

Ngā mihi nui

Mairo Lans.

Claire Janes Manager Budget and Crown Entities

### Appendix A

## MSD's Board and Committees Membership by Crown Entities and Statutory Tribunals as at 31 December 2021.

#### Children's Commissioner

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Judge Frances Eivers	New Zealand Māori (Ngāti Maniapoto and Waikato)	1 November 2021	31 October 2023

### Peke Waihanga - NZ Artificial Limb Service

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
George Reedy (Board Chair -since February 2013) <i>nominee of the</i> <i>NZALS Board</i>	Māori (Ngāti Porou)	1 March 2011	30 April 2023
Katherine Horan to represent the interests of war amputees	New Zealand European	15 August 2018	30 September 2024
Stuart Burns nominee of responsible Minister	New Zealand European	12 October 2020	11 October 2023
Dr Cynthia Bennett to represent the interests of DHBs	New Zealand European	1 November 2016	11 October 2023
Kevin Ross nominee of the Amputees Federation of New Zealand	New Zealand European	1 November 2016	11 October 2023

#### Social Workers Registration Board

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Shannon Pakura (Board Chair since February 2019)	Māori (Te Atihaunui-a- paparangi)	1 January 2019	31 December 2024
Rose Henderson	New Zealand European	8 July 2019	31 August 2024
Hori Ahimiro	Māori (Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe)	11 June 2020	23 June 2023
Andrea Nichols	New Zealand European	1 January 2019	31 December 2024
Paula Rose	New Zealand European	15 October 2016 <i>Reappointed</i> : <i>11 June 2020</i>	10 June 2023
Jeff Sanders	New Zealand European	11 June 2020	10 June 2023
Adam Davy	New Zealand European	11 June 2020	10 June 2023

Note: Ministry for Women website shows six members on the Social Workers Registration Board, as at 31 December 2021. This is due to one of the Board members resigning from the Board in November 2021, before the end of their term.

# Social Security Appeal Authority

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Grant Pearson (Chair)	New Zealand European	1 January 2017 <i>Reappointed</i> : <i>1 October 2020</i>	30 September 2023
Rachel Palu (Deputy Chair)	New Zealand European/Māori (Ngāti Apa)	1 August 2021	31 July 2024
John Ryall	New Zealand European	1 October 2020	30 September 2023

# Student Allowance Appeal Authority

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Neil Cameron	New Zealand European	11 April 2005	16 August 2023

# Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Jo Hughson (Chair)	New Zealand European	14 August 2015	8 June 2022
Winston McCarthy (Deputy Chair)	New Zealand Māori (Ngātiwai, Ngāpuhi) and Samoan	19 November 2021	18 November 2024
Registered Social W	orker		
Naomi (Tracey) Robinson	New Zealand Māori Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Kauwhata	9 June 2020	8 June 2023
Andrea McKenzie	Māori Ngāti Kurawhatia Ngāti Tuwharetoa	12 October 2020	11 October 2023
Sonya Hunt	New Zealand European	12 October 2020	11 October 2023
Fiona Wilson	New Zealand European	15 March 2021	14 March 2024
Sue Jarvis	New Zealand European	21 June 2021	20 June 2024

Name	Ethnicities (and Iwi if applicable)	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Lay person memb	oers		
Jackie Pearse	New Zealand European	21 June 2018	19 September 2022
Nikki Geeson	New Zealand European	21 June 2021	20 June 2024
Iani Nemani	Fijian Tongan	21 June 2021	20 June 2024
Nicole Walker	Māori (Te Whānau ā Apanui, Te Whakatōhea)	19 November 2021	18 November 2024

# Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal continued