

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Social Security (Cash Assets and Income Exemptions—Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023 and Student Allowances (Income Exemptions—Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 4 May 2023, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that in March 2023, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee agreed to exclude the subsidies provided as part of Kāinga Ora's Pilot Winter Energy Study from the definition of income in the Social Security Act 2018 and the Student Allowance Regulations 1998 [SWC-23-MIN-0014];
- 2 noted that the Social Security (Cash Assets and Income Exemptions— Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023 and the Student Allowances (Income Exemptions—Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023 give effect to the decision referred to in paragraph 1 above;
- noted that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
 - 3.1 so that the regulations can come into force prior to Kāinga Ora paying the first subsidy for any electricity consumption over each participant's electricity cap to energy retailers in June 2023;
 - on the grounds that the amendments to the regulations will only confer benefits for those affected by them;
- 4 **agreed** to waive the 28-day rule so that the regulations can come into force on 12 May 2023.
- 5 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the:
 - 5.1 Social Security (Cash Assets and Income Exemptions-Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023 [PCO 25389/6.0];
 - 5.2 Student Allowances (Income Exemptions-Kāinga Ora Energy Subsidy) Amendment Regulations 2023 [PCO 25390/5.0].

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Attendance: see over

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Peeni Henare Hon Ginny Andersen Hon Dr Duncan Webb Hon Willow-Jean Prime Tangi Utikere, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG