

Cabinet Social Outcomes Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Te Haoroa Programme: Ministry of Social Development Data Warehouse Replacement Report Back

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 8 May 2024, the Cabinet Social Outcomes Committee:

- noted that in Budget 2019, the previous government approved funding for the Ministry of Social Development's (MSD) data warehouse replacement programme, Te Haoroa [CAB-19-MIN-0174.36];
- 2 **noted** that in December 2021, the previous government agreed to provide s 9(2)(b)(ii) for the implementation of Te Haoroa [GOV-21-MIN-0054];
- 3 **noted** that Te Haoroa commenced in January 2022;
- 4 **noted** that Te Haoroa has designed and implemented a new cloud-based data platform with full security certification;
- 5 **noted** that in order to utilise this new technology, MSD has invested in its resource capability with a specific emphasis on new data architecture, analysis, and design, and new ways of building data assets and reporting;
- **noted** that Te Haoroa has also delivered additional capabilities to MSD, specifically in the data cataloguing, data quality, and data management areas, which support the accessibility and useability of data for front line decision-making;
- 7 **noted** that Te Haoroa will be integrated into core business delivery by July 2024, and that the programme officially wound up in June 2025.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

Attendance: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Christopher Luxon

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon David Seymour

Hon Nicola Willis (Chair)

Hon Chris Bishop

Hon Dr Shane Reti

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Mark Mitchell

Hon Tama Potaka

Hon Matt Doocey

Hon Melissa Lee

Hon Nicole McKee

Hon Penny Simmonds

Hon Chris Penk

Hon Karen Chhour

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for SOU