

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Government Response to the Report of the Petitions Committee on the Petition of Andrew Wilson: Rezone Accommodation Supplement Eligibility for Queenstown Residents

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 21 March 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that on 7 September 2023, the Petitions Committee presented its report to the House entitled "Petition of Andrew Wilson: Rezone Accommodation Supplement eligibility for Queenstown residents" (the report);
- 2 **noted** that the Petitions Committee recommended that the Government update the Accommodation Supplement Areas every time Statistics New Zealand updates its geographic boundaries;
- **agreed** to not progress the recommendation of the Petitions Committee referred to in paragraph 2;
- 4 **noted** that the proposed Government Response recognises that the recommendation of the Committee merits further consideration and states that the Minister for Social Development and Employment has commissioned further advice from officials on changes to the Accommodation Supplement, including on updating the Accommodation Supplement Area boundaries;
- **approved** the Government response, attached to the submission under LEG-24-SUB-0034, to the report;
- 6 **noted** that the Government response must be presented to the House by 25 March 2024;
- 7 **invited** the Minister for Social Development and Employment to present the Government Response to the report to the House in accordance with Standing Order 252;
- 8 **invited** the Minister for Social Development and Employment to write to the petitioner enclosing a copy of the Government Response to the report, after the response has been presented to the House.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters (Chair)

Hon Brooke van Velden

Hon Dr Shane Reti

Hon Erica Stanford

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Mark Mitchell

Hon Todd McClay Hon Tama Potaka

Hon Melissa Lee

Hon Nicole Mckee

Hon Simon Watts

Hon Penny Simmonds

Hon Chris Penk

Hon Scott Simpson

Todd Stevenson, MP

Jamie Arbuckle, MP

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG Office of the Leader of the House