

Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Proposed Amendment to the Social Workers Registration Legislation Amendment Bill

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 25 January 2024, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- noted that the Social Workers Registration Legislation Act 2019 is due to repeal the experience pathway on 28 February 2024;
- 2 **noted** that the Social Workers Registration Legislation Amendment Bill proposes to delay the repeal of the experience pathway by four years (to 28 February 2028);
- agreed to amend the Social Workers Registration Legislation Amendment Bill via an Amendment Paper to delay the repeal of the experience pathway by two years (to 28 February 2026), as opposed to four years as currently drafted;
- 4 **invited** the Minister for Social Development and Employment to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to amend the Social Workers Registration Legislation Amendment Bill to include the above decision;
- **authorised** the Minister for Social Development and Employment to approve and release the Amendment Paper;
- **noted** that further work will continue to be undertaken to consider broadening entry pathways to social work, including within existing legislative parameters and as part of the 2025 statutory review of the Social Workers Registration Act by the Social Worker Registration Board.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Attendance (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Christopher Luxon (Chair)

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon David Seymour

Hon Nicola Willis

Hon Chris Bishop

Hon Brooke van Velden

Hon Simeon Brown

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Hon Dr Shane Reti

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Erica Stanford

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Judith Collins

Hon Simon Watts

Hon Andrew Bayly

Hon Andrew Hoggard

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet