

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2023

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 20 July 2023, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 noted that in November 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC) agreed to waive the three-year residency stand-down period for student loans and student allowances for family members who are granted residence visas between 15 March 2019 and 31 December 2024 through their relationship to holders of a Christchurch Response Visa, or those who would have been eligible but who were already holding another residence visa, for study starting on or after 1 January 2024 [SWC-22-MIN-0191];
- 2 **noted** that the original decision taken by Cabinet in paragraph 1 above was rescinded on 26 June 2023 [CAB-23-MIN-0259.01];
- 3 **noted** that in June 2023, Cabinet agreed to waive the three-year residency stand-down for student loans and allowances for people starting study on or after 1 January 2024, as long as they are [CAB-23MIN-0259.01]:
 - 3.1 granted a residence-class visa under the Immigration Act 2009 between 15 March 2019 and 31 December 2024, and
 - 3.2 a family member (as defined in paragraph 4 below) of a living person where that living person is:
 - 3.2.1 the holder of a Christchurch Response Visa, whether or not they reside in New Zealand; or
 - 3.2.2 a New Zealand citizen, whether or not they reside in New Zealand, who:
 - 3.2.2.1 was a resident visa holder under the Immigration Act 2009 at the time of the Masjid Al Noor or Linwood Masjid terrorist attack on 15 March 2019 (the attack) and was eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa; or
 - 3.2.2.2 would have been eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa had they not already been the holder of a permanent resident visa under the Immigration Act 2009; or
 - 3.2.2.3 would have been eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa had they not already been a New Zealand citizen; or

IN CONFIDENCE

- 3.2.2.4 was granted New Zealand citizenship after holding a Christchurch Response Visa; or
- 3.2.3 the holder of a permanent resident visa under the Immigration Act 2009, whether or not they reside in New Zealand, who:
 - 3.2.3.1 was a resident visa holder under the Immigration Act 2009 at the time of the attack and was eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa; or
 - 3.2.3.2 would have been eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa had they not already been the holder of a permanent resident visa under the Immigration Act 2009; or
- 3.2.4 the holder of a resident visa under the Immigration Act 2009, whether or not they reside in New Zealand, who held the resident visa at the time of the attack and who was eligible for a Christchurch Response Visa;
- **noted** that in June 2023, Cabinet agreed that family members for the purposes of paragraph 3 above, are defined as partners, children (both dependent and non-dependent), grandchildren, parents, grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, first cousins (i.e., a child of an aunt or uncle), parents-in-law, children-in-law, siblings-in-law, as well as step-children, step-parents and step-siblings [CAB-23-MIN-0259.01];
- 5 **noted** that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2023 give effect to the decisions referred to in the paragraphs above;
- 6 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2023 [PCO 25519/10.0];
- 7 noted that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2023 come into force on 16 October 2023 and that the changes will apply to periods of study starting on or after 1 January 2024.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon Kiri Allan Hon David Parker Hon Peeni Henare Hon Kieran McAnulty Hon Barbara Edmonds Hon Dr Duncan Webb Hon Dr Deborah Russell Tangi Utikere, MP (Chief Government Whip) **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG