

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Partnership Fund: Disestablishment of Board

Portfolio Youth

On 29 September 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

Background

- 1 **noted** that
 - 1.1 in 2015, the Cabinet Social Policy Committee agreed to a new approach to grow funding for youth development, including a partnership fund with a new non-statutory board or charitable trust to make fund allocation decisions [SOC-15-MIN-0034.01];
 - 1.2 in 2016, the Cabinet Appointments and Honours Committee noted that the Minister for Youth intended to appoint eight members to the Partnership Fund Board (the Board) [APH-16-MIN-0181];
- 2 **noted** that a 2017 review of the Board found that it was experiencing difficulty in operating according to Cabinet's intentions and the Minister for Youth made interim changes to the Board;
- 3 **noted** that:
 - 3.1 in 2020, the Minister for Youth requested a further review of the Board's governance arrangements to consider whether the arrangements were 'fit-for-purpose' in ensuring the Board was operating strategically and independently, and whether the Board has the right resources and funding to deliver on its objectives;
 - 3.2 the review found that the Board was not delivering to the required level on two of three of its objectives;

Future oversight of the Partnership Fund

- 4 **noted** that in response to the review findings, the Minister for Youth has considered advice on possible alternate options to the Partnership Fund Board;
- 5 **agreed** to disestablish the Partnership Fund Board;
- 6 **agreed** that Ministry for Youth Development (MYD) formally oversee the Partnership Fund to best utilise existing networks and sector expertise;

IN CONFIDENCE

s 9(2)(f)(iv)

7

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Peeni Henare Hon Willie Jackson Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall Hon Meka Whaitiri Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC